©  Photo:

Thise Church

Visit Thise Church and see an authentic Golden Age painting by Constantin Hansen.

Thise Church is open Tues. through Thurs. 8 am till 1 pm and Fri. 8 am till 1 pm.

Thise Church is a well-preserved Romanesque granite church with a chancel and nave. The sacristy, porch, and tower were added in the late Middle Ages. The year 1787 and the initials "AQ - MR" on the tower refer to a restoration funded by Anders Qvistgaard of Jungetgård and his wife Mette Ring.

Originally, the church had two columned portals. The south door with its rounded tympanum is preserved by the porch, while the north portal is bricked up and has lost its columns.

Inside, the nave and chancel have low beam ceilings, while the sacristy and tower room feature vaulted brick ceilings. Frescoes from various periods were discovered on the chancel arch in 1915 but were later whitewashed again.

Beneath the arch stands a smooth Romanesque baptismal font. The baptismal basin is South German and dates to around 1575. The oak pulpit bears the year 1603 and includes a later-added coat of arms for the Bille family.

The altar candlesticks from 1621 bear the arms of Iver Lykke of Eskjær and Sophie Parsberg. The altarpiece, painted in 1876 by Danish Golden Age artist Constantin Hansen, depicts Christ blessing the little children – a motif he painted several times.

A heavy, iron-bound oak door leads to the sacristy and is believed to be original. On the north wall of the nave hangs a crucifix from around 1300. During restoration in 1986–87, the original north-facing chancel window was rediscovered and is now visible in the inner wall.

The church bell hangs in a large northern opening in the tower. It was recast in 1788 and again in 1902. A letter from the parish priest in 1674 reveals the poverty of the parish and fears of losing the bell forever.

Get more inspiration here:

Destination Limfjorden © 2025
English